UP Municipal Election Result today 2023 Live Updates: Congress candidate Ashni Awasthi leading in Kanpur.

UP Nagar Nikay (Municipal) Election Result 2023 : The Bharatiya Janata Party is currently ahead in 15 corporations in the Uttar Pradesh Nagar Nikay Chunav results, Dainik Bhaskar reported. These include the high-stakes Ayodhya and Lucknow municipal corporations. Meanwhile, Congress candidate Ashni Awasthi is leading ahead of BJP and SP in Kanpur.

Counting of votes is underway for the UP urban local body polls, which saw intense campaigning by politicians like Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav.

The Nagar Nikay Chunav polls were held in two phases — on May 4 and May 11. About 53 per cent voters exercised their franchise, out of the total 4.32 crore who were eligible, according to Election Commission data. Seventeen mayors and 1,401 corporators will be elected once the results are out. As many as 19 corporators have been elected unopposed. Shahjahanpur will elect its mayor for the first time this year as the city became a municipal corporation in 2018, a year after the last civil polls were held in the state.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp